Dreams

 Dreams

I trace your face as you sleep, each line a history of our time.

I feel your breath on my hand, as light as a feather in wind.

Years ago I remember, before the lines and wrinkles came

when all was possible and we were young

and dreamed of a time, this time,

of growing old together.

I am participating in NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Writing Month. The goal is to write one poem a day for the month of April. We’ll see how I do.

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in A River of Stones, aros, NaPoWriMo, short poems. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreams

  1. D. B. Dean says:

    Wonderful poem, sweet image and a dream we all dream…thank you for sharing!

  2. grannysu says:

    Thank you for your comment. I am always glad when something is enjoyed by others.

  3. susie swanson says:

    This is a great poem and I just read your other blog and it was so nice. I felt like I was sitting there with you. Thanks Susie

  4. Hildred says:

    A lovely poignant poem. I am just up and left Charles sleeping – your words touch me very intimately as we grow old together, and I remember how impossible it would have seemed to me in our younger years that we would have these days of old and sweetly familiar marriage.

  5. Granny Sue says:

    Thank you all for your comments. Love grows sweeter and steadier as we age, it seems. I would not trade this time for the wilder blood of younger days.

Leave a Reply

