For You

If I could write a song about you

I’d write it in colors of green and blue

blue and green and dashes of yellow

because that’s the way I think about you

 

If I could make a poem about you

I’d sing it in notes soft and true

that soar and dip like butterflies

because that’s the way I sing about you

 

If I could tell the world about you

I’d stand on a stage and show them the view

of mountains and valleys where rivers run through

because that’s the way my heart feels you

that’s the way my heart feels you

 

 

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in A River of Stones, aros, NaPoWriMo, short poems. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For You

  1. Sherrell says:

    Suzanna – I really love this poem and can hear your wonderful sweet voice singing in the background. Thanks for sharing.

  2. grannysu says:

    Sherrell, thank you. I appreciate your words–they mean a lot to me.

  3. Mamabug says:

    That poem was pure music Susanna! I enjoyed reading it very much.

  4. grannysu says:

    Thank you, Mama-bug. It started with the idea of writing a cinquain–the colors came to mind for some reason and it took off on its own. It’s really a love poem to West Virginia, but that’s a secret 🙂

Leave a Reply

