Found

Who knows  the answer? Like a maniac

I’d never heard a restless heart before.

Sure it sounds funny. It is what it is.

What I hear most clearly are the sycamores

beseeching the sky with twisted lily-white limbs.

You almost came yesterday but turned away. Inside

the crowd did not notice your straight back or your hair

curling over your collar.

But I did. My arms reached for you, restless heart,

but you were so far from home.

Written with phrases heard over several days at a coffee shop. Put them together, rearrange, and somewhere inside them is a poem.

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in A River of Stones, aros, short poems. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Found

  1. first50 says:

    I’ve really been enjoying how you’re stretching yourself this month, but this one – restless heart – is particularly wonderful. Wonderful.

  2. Granny Sue says:

    Thank you, Virginia. I am trying to move out of the comfort zone and try some new things.

  3. Granny Sue says:

    And now I think I need to change the title 🙂

Leave a Reply

