Grete

I heard about her on the news

dead at 57,

three years younger than I am today,

a runner who broke the records,

blazed the trail for other women

who ran behind her.

At 60 I am not interested in running but only

in moving gracefully without pain.

I dream about running,

about moving freely and gracefully with the wind

as she did.

But I am a mother, rooted to earth, not born to fly

and so

I listen and admire

and continue on my earthbound way

while she soars

into the next adventure.

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grete

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 42 (April 21-27) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  2. Kay Salady says:

    Beautiful retrospect. Thank you!

  3. JL Dodge says:

    Love that line

    But I am a mother, rooted to earth, not born to fly

    memorable !
    Happy rally
    JL&B

  4. meiro says:

    I think I have to follow you “moving gracefully” at my 57

    Great piece.
    Here is mine : http://meirozavian.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/1124/

  5. Mitu says:

    beautifully conveyed……..absolutely loved it 🙂

  6. grannysu says:

    Thank you, Mitu. She was an inspiring woman.

  7. Pingback: The Eighteen. « Coffee Cups and Fragile Strings.

Leave a Reply

