Reflections

The moon stopped me on my way to home and fire

her new freshness washed by the rains that occupied the day

but surrendered at dusk. The clouds cleared and her face,

just above the horizon, pulled my hand to the ignition,

to the key, to turn the car off, get out and look at her.

The evening was still, only the chirp of crickets

and a splash of some thing into the lake below me

broke the autumnal quiet.

I reached for my camera. Snap. Snap. Snap.

Desperately I tried to capture her beauty, her reflection

in the rippled water, the wonder that filled me.

I do not know if I succeeded. The pictures

are still on my camera, waiting for download.

As I got back in my car, trying to hold on to the moments

with the moon, flashing lights and sirens broke the night

into shards of red and noise. Three ambulances rocketed past

and in one I could see the paramedics working furiously on…who?

What had happened on my quiet road? What neighbor, what friend

was stricken on this night?

Wonder vanished with the strobing lights,

replaced with prayers. I called a friend who might know

what awfulness had struck and as it turned out

it had struck her home. Not her, but one who lived there,

a simple man just my age who dropped right where he stood.

As I write this I do not know if he lived or if he has gone.

I hold on to that fleeting moment of beauty and serenity by the lake,

with the moon, and the tiny splash as something fell into the darkness.

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

