This Moment

NaPoWriMo, Day 8: Write a poem about a flower. 

This moment between night and sun
when fog covers the trees and the birds’ singing
sounds like they are shivering in their feathers;

This moment between winter and spring
when the maple buds and freezes and buds again
never losing faith that warmth will surely return;

This moment when I see tiny leaves of green
breaking through in the lettuce bed,
pinpricks of life in frosty earth;

This is when I count my numbered years and pray
that I will see the daffodils once,
twice, twenty times again.

daffodils 007

 

About grannysu

storyteller, writer, poet, gardener, countrywoman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Moment

  1. I am really enjoying your poems this month. The lune was especially fine; today’s poem with the daffy punchline too. Looking forward to more.

    • grannysu says:

      Thank you! I’ll be over to check your poems today. I am glad to be doing this, and getting back to writing.

  2. Jan Brown says:

    What a beautiful poem! I was concerned that writing about flowers would mean something trite, something “done before,” so I chose a different prompt and wrote a haiku on a different theme. But you have done such a lovely job, extremely well written and moving. Brava!

  3. Jane Dorfman says:

    I hope it’s twenty times more too. Lovely poem.

Leave a Reply

